Adventure through the 4th Chakra

October 30, 2017

Adventure through the 4th chakra



The Sanskrit name for this energy center is Anahata meaning unstuck or unhurt. Here lies the very center of the chakra system as well as the heart of our being, the chamber from which we give and receive.


What the 4th Chakra Represents:

  • The element of the 4th chakra is air. It is here we learn the rule of breath. The breath has many cleansing elements such as; cleanses the body, purifies the mind, dissolves blockages that keep our heart from opening.

  • Connecting and opening this chakra means to open ones self to self-love, and the feeling of truly being in-love with life itself.

  • It is in this space that life itself beats, we not only experience the physical organs but move into the realm of connection, where we expand outside ourselves and find unity with another.

  • The basic human need is love, this alone will not open the heart fully, it is through giving of love that ego transcends limitations and blossoms the heart completely.

  • The hearts task is to find balance in relationship in all aspects of being; mind and body, self and others, light and shadow side, masculine and feminine, inner and outer realms.

  • The 4th chakra represents your basic right to love and be loved. This idea may become distorted as we grow through life.  Remember the purest love is unconditional, for both oneself and others.

  • When the heart chakra is imbalanced we may feel grief. Grief is caused by rejection, betrayal, and loss.


Understanding Excess or deficiency in the 4th Chakra

One important thought to contemplate is the confusion of excess in the heart chakra. We may confuse the meaning of excess with love but what it truly means is to have excessive focus on attention and approval from others in order to receive love. Remember, excess results from compensating behavior for a deep wound. A deficient heart chakra is closed down to others.


Take a look below and evaluate yourself on each of these characteristics. 






Your Body

 One of the most important relationships we can have is between the mind and the body. The 4th Chakra teaches us to cultivate an attitude of love and reverence towards our body and all of life. This teaches us unconditional acceptance for our body in whatever shape it happens to be in.


Deepening the connection:

  • Loving your body unconditionally means to actively care for it by giving it the right diet, exercise, rest and pleasure. How can you listen more deeply to your body? What can you do for your body that expresses appreciation?

  • The 4th chakra is located at the center of your chest and regulates the lungs, heart, pericardium, upper back, ribs, inner arms and hands. It rules over the respiratory system and breath, so chronic disorders in any of these areas may indicate an imbalance in the heart chakra. 


Relating through the heart:
When we are grounded in the 1st chakra we learn how to give in a way that keeps us from feeling depleted when we love. This allows us to give from a place of abundance rather than neediness.


Deepening the connection

  • Understanding the word relate: to relate is to feel connection, compassion and empathy for another. It is spending time being fully present with someone, sharing yourself and opening to an unconditional acceptance for another being. With that being said we can only fully do this when we have adapted that same compassion and empathy for ourselves.

  • Developing Empathy: Naturally we carry a tendency to want to be a fixer upper. With empathy being a crucial quality of the heart we learn to let go of the egos need to fix and develop a deep compassion to feel with another sentient being.

  • The hearts opens widest by giving to another, but it is important that this giving comes from a centered self that is grounded in the lower chakras.


Finding balance through the 3 M’s

Mindfulness, Movement & Munchies



With the the 4th chakra being the element of air we can best internalize the benefits through breath work. Expanding your breathing capacity allows spaciousness in your heart chakra as well as clarifies the mind. There are many breath techniques, some are more invigorating while others are bring about relaxation.


The journey of your breath

This practice is here to help bring awareness to your breath. 

  • Find a comfortable space were you will not be disturbed.  

  • Bring yourself to a comfortable position.

  • Set your timer for 5 mins and allow yourself to simply be with your breath. Allow  your breath to flow in and out without trying to control it. Just listening and be present. 

  • This is a great technique to do multiple times a day. 



Physical exercises for the heart chakra focus on opening the chest, stimulating the meridians in the arms, and expanding and deepening the breath.


Cobra Pose

  • Lie face down on a rug or mat. Extend your legs out behind you and press your inner ankles toward each other. Place your hands on the floor, underneath your shoulders, with the fingers pointing forward, elbows pointing upwards.

  • On your inhalation, raise your upper body, gentle pressing your hands into the mat. Keeping your legs firm, press your hips into the floor. Hold this position for a few breaths. When you're ready to move on, pushing your hands into the floor, arching your back, keeping your elbows slightly bent and close to your body. Now lift your chest against gravity, shoulders down, the top of your head parallel to the ceiling.

  • Hold this position as long as it is comfortable while breathing deeply, expanding the area around your heart. As you exhale, bend your arms and lower your chest to the floor. Take time to feel the movement of prana. Repeat according to your inclination and ability. 


We feel the best when we eat the best! Balancing the heart chakra through munchies is all about keeping it green and fresh! Here is a list of greens to add to your eating regimen.

  • Green Vegetables:  spinach, zucchini, kale, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, Asian greens, beans, silverbeet, peas and asparagus

  • Green fruits: kiwi fruit, green apples, green grapes, cucumbers, avocado and limes.

  • Green superfoods: spirulina, chlorella, wheatgrass, barley grass, matcha powder and green tea.

  • Herbs: coriander, mint, oregano, parsley, thyme, rosemary, tarragon, basil and sage.


Connecting what we have learned


Bringing healing, balance, and transformation into your chakras takes time and practice. Take this next week to delve into your 2nd chakra, connecting the 1st and 2nd chakra and practice the the M’s everyday! Making a plan on how you want o work on your chakra is a great way to gain more insight and reflection. Here are a couple journaling questions.


My strengths in the chakra are:

My weaknesses are:

My goals are:

I make a commitment to:

Please reload

Recent Posts

July 21, 2018

Please reload


Please reload


I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload